Friday, February 17, 2017

CONYERS Reintroduces Signature Bill To Provide Jobs Or Training To Every Job-Seeking American

Washington, DC Representative John Conyers, Jr. (MI-13), with support from 28 Democratic Members of Congress, reintroduced H.R. 1000, the “Humphrey-Hawkins 21st Century Full Employment and Training Act,” also known as the “Jobs for All Act.” The bill establishes a comprehensive job creation and training program that would create millions of new jobs and raise wages throughout the country. The bill, which is funded by a small tax on Wall Street speculation, would employ Americans in projects such as the renovation of housing and schools, infrastructure repair, expanding access to broadband and wireless Internet, neighborhood beautification projects, among many other community initiatives in the health and education sectors.  This direct job creation effort would be coupled with a significant increase in funding for job training programs funded under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. 

Dean of the U.S. House
of Representatives
John Conyers, Jr.
Congressman Conyers said, “H.R. 1000, the Jobs for All Act, is legislation that could put an end to joblessness in America. While any reasonable observer knows that President Obama made phenomenal progress on job creation, too many urban and rural pockets of this country continue to battle the plague of unemployment, including parts of my Detroit Congressional district. If my colleagues across the aisle are serious about creating jobs, they should pass and sign the Jobs for All Act today.”

Rep. Conyers’ bill would address lingering job shortages by providing resources for employment and training programs administered by non-profit organizations, educational institutions, and state and local governments.  H.R. 1000 prioritizes projects in those regions that have higher level of unemployment, underemployment, and non-labor force participation.

Original Congressional co-sponsors of the measure include the Co-Chairs of the Congressional Full Employment Caucus, Marcy Kaptur (D-OH) and Frederica Wilson (D-FL), along with Joyce Beatty (D-OH), Michael Capuano (D-MA), Judy Chu (D-CA), Yvette Clark (D-NY), Elijah Cummings (D-MD, Danny Davis (D-IL), Keith Ellison (D-MN), John Garamendi (D-CA), Al Green (D-TX), Raúl Grijalva (D-AZ), Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX), Brenda Lawrence (D-MI), John Lewis (D-GA), Jim McGovern (D-MA), Gregory Meeks (D-NY), Gwen Moore (D-WI), Jerrold Nadler (D-NY), Rick Nolan (D-MN), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), Mark Pocan (D-WI), Jamie Raskin (D-MD), Tim Ryan (D-OH), Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), José Serrano (D-NY), Louise Slaughter (D-NY), and Marc Veasey (D-TX).

Voting is beautiful, be beautiful ~ vote.©